Tuesday, February 26


The Ligi Ndogo Planets kick off their campaign for promotion to the premier league on Saturday 16thof March. Initially planned to kick off on Saturday 16 February 2013, Kenya’s second tier league will now kick off exactly a month later.

The new date was confirmed by the office of the Chair of Leagues at the Football Kenya Federation.

The delay was occasioned by a back and forth between team sponsors and the organizers, the Football Kenya Federation. Owners haggled on how best to cut costs and cushion the mounting financial obligation laid on them by the organizers’ fiscal stagnation brought about by structures which have failed to attract a title sponsor.

The owners rightfully put it across that teams have had to cater for their league obligations as well as costs to fund and run the league.
More than 5 Million per team
Currently, the league is fully sponsored directly and indirectly by the clubs to a tune of more than 240 million Kenya shillings per year. This goes into running their outfits and expenses such as club registration, affiliation fee and player administration fees. Teams also pay for playing fields and foot match officials’ bills.

The federation coordinates fixtures and arbitrates when there is contention.

The clubs successfully argued that as the only stakeholders in the league they saw it fit to not only make it all inclusive but to also come up with clear cut measures to help teams meet their financial obligations without going overboard in their allocations.

A delay to reach an early solution was hampered by coastal representatives who have always had an expensive outing whenever travelling to play upcountry teams; there are more teams in Nairobi than coast. They wanted more intra coast fixtures compared to upcountry.


This year’s competition will feature 8 new teams (4 in each zone), promoted from the provincial league. The play,pooling and promotion format is also set to change and is still at a proposal stage.

Sub zoning zones

It has been proposed that each zone has 24 teams. The zone will then be divided into 2, with sub zones of 12 teams each.

-The teams making the groups have been picked on odd and even basis based on last season’s performance.

-At the end of the season, the winners from each group in the zones will meet in one venue from where the winners will be promoted.


Zone A

Group 1; Bidco United, Administration Police, Ligi Ndogo, MOYAS, KRA, Green Berets, Congo (West Ham), Sparki Youth, Maweni City, Kiamabakia Christian Centre (KCC,Meru), Brighter Stars, Muranga United

Group 2; Admiral, Mahakama, Kariobangi Sharks, Nairobi Stima, Magongo Rangers, Coast United, Kibera Celtic, Posta Rangers, Mt. Kenya united, Jericho Allstars, Tala FC, Nakumatt FC

Zone B

Group 1;Nzoia United, Nakuru All Stars, West Kenya Sugar, Zoo Kericho, GFC 105, Timsales, Shabana, comply, MumCop, ADC Swan Orchards, Kisero, Kolongolo

Group 2; Oserian, Agro Chemicals, Finlays Horticulture, Hotsprings, Longonot Horticulture, Kakamega Stars (former Rush FC), Kisumu Municipal, Utawala, St. Josephs, Raiders, Kisumu Youth Olympic Centre (KYOC), FC Talanta